Christians and the gay debate on marriage

Christians and the gay debate on marriage.

This is just my personal belief and stance on the current hot subject around the world.

I believe all too often Christians get a bad rap when it comes to the marriage of gays and gays in general. Now this is not to say that some right wing Christians don’t take things overboard from time to time, but show me any particular group of people that don’t. I live in the capitol of rednecks and believe me they take things too far all the time, but you can’t label a group by the radical.

Why do Christians also get a bad rap when it comes to speaking out about our beliefs? Is it no more than what the opposite is doing for their group?  When gays stand up and holler equal rights the media jumps on the band wagon by fully supporting them while admonishing those who oppose, why? If you think it is because the media fully supports you then you are crazy, they want ratings and news, you provide it for them! I believe in the freedom of speech, in fact I served our country so you could have your right as well, why muzzle mine and amplify yours? You speak of equal rights then give me the equal right to oppose something I don’t believe in!

As I have said many times and in a recent blog post, I was around gay before most even knew what gay was. My cousin was gay before there was even a closet to come out of, I grew up around it. Do I love my cousin, yes, do I support his lifestyle, no! That doesn’t make me a bad person, I’m sure there are things in my life that he doesn’t support or agree with it. The fact of it is I disagree with the gay lifestyle because I believe in the God’s word, plain, simple, truth!

Now for those who claim to be Christians and followers of God yet openly support gay marriage, well you are in line for a rude awakening. The Bible clearly states in Romans 1:24-26 Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen. Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error.” Plain and simple you would think!! Men are not to be with men and women are not to be with other women. Think of it another way, many of you have heard this before as well, God made our parts different so they would fit together for a reason. Women parts don’t naturally fit together and men’s don’t, unless you know something I don’t. God didn’t make Adam another man from his rib, He made him a woman. God didn’t say leave your mother and father for another man or woman, but take a wife (female) and produce off springs. Again plain and simple you would think!

Now if you are not a Christian and believe in gay marriage and rights, well there isn’t much I can say to sway you. What I can say is someday soon you will be awakened to your sin and everything will come full circle and only then will you understand. Can I make you do that? Nope! Can anyone else? Nope! But there is one coming that can!!!

Now, I can’t speak for all Christians, but I do believe most would agree with this. We will love our family and friends who are gay, we will be there in their extreme time of need, ie…deaths, sickness, ect. However, nothing says I have to like their ways or support what I do not agree with and go against my Lord and Savior!  That means I do not support gay marriages because it is not Biblical. Does that make me a bad person, nope! You stand up for what you believe and I will for what I believe.

Let me leave you with this last thought. I find it interesting that the gay community has chosen the equal sign for their cause. In part I understand why, but I think God is even working in that. See an equal sign is two exact indistinguishable bars/lines with the same orientation that are forever standing apart, never to cross. If you were to draw them out to infinity they would never intersect, it would be impossible. However the cross, a juxtaposition of two different lines/bars in its orientation crosses perfectly and which are fused into one single shape. Funny how God works in the smallest of things, equal sign never will cross and stand alone; the cross fuses into one and never stands apart. Even in the symbolism God is working!

Leave a Reply

